
GUIDELINES FOR APPROVAL 

OF DRUG WHOLESALE PERMITS: 
Full Service Wholesaler / Non-Prescription Wholesaler – In-State (Arizona) 

(Non-Resident Applications – See Below) 

1. In-State Applications shall only be approved at a scheduled Board meeting 
and the completed application shall be in the Board office at least 15 days 
prior to the Board meeting date for proper investigation and processing. 

2. The wholesaler shall list the drugs to be wholesaled. 
3. Full Service Drug Wholesaler permits allow the permittee to stock prescription 

only and non-prescription. 
4. (OTC) medications; Non-Prescription Drug Wholesaler permits allow the 

permittee to stock ONLY non-prescription (OTC) medications. 
5. Plans shall be submitted demonstrating that the size and security of the facility is 

adequate and commensurate with the proposed operation. A temporary permit 
cannot be issued to a drug wholesaler. 

6. A non-prescription drug wholesaler is required to name a manager, not 
necessarily a pharmacist, who is experienced and knowledgeable in laws 
pertaining to drug distribution.  

7. A full service wholesaler shall name a designated representative with 3 years 
experience who meets the requirements of A.R.S. § 32-1982 and a resume shall 
be provided with the application. The person named as manager or designated 
representative for the drug wholesale facility shall be present for orientation at 
the Board meeting when the application for permit is reviewed by the Board for 
approval. 

8. A full service wholesaler shall provide evidence, at the time of application and 
renewal, of a $100,000.00 surety bond or line of credit as required by A.R.S. § 
32-1982(D). If a full service wholesaler can provide evidence that it possesses 
the required bond in another state, the requirement for a bond in Arizona may be 
waived.  

9. A drug wholesaler shall not order any drugs or open for business until final 
inspection and written approval of a Compliance Officer is issued. Opening 
inspections should be scheduled one week in advance with the Compliance 
Officer. 

10. No permit shall be issued unless permitted by local zoning requirements. 
11. No drug wholesale permittee shall manufacture package or repackage label or 

relabel or make any alterations of any drug product or container. 
12. Prescription only drug products shall be sold or distributed only to duly licensed 

pharmacies or medical practitioners. Non-prescription drug products shall be sold 
or distributed only to the above persons and to non-prescription retailers holding 
a current permit issued by the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy (if such outlet is 
located in Arizona). Sales and distribution records shall be maintained showing 



name address and permit number of all customers and shall be available to the 
Compliance Officer(s) of the Board. 

13. Applicants for a Drug Wholesale Permit shall have and be familiar with the 
Arizona Revised Statutes and Rules governing the practice of pharmacy and the 
operation of a Drug Wholesaler. 

14. Federal laws require that all personnel employed in the drug wholesale industry 
shall be qualified by education and/or experience to assume responsibility for 
compliance with state licensing requirements. 

15. Permittees are responsible for notifying the Board office of changes involving 
ownership, address, phone number, name of business, designated 
representative or manager including their phone number.  

16. DRUG WHOLESALE PERMITS ARE NON-TRANSFERRABLE. 
17. PLEASE CONTACT BOARD OFFICE FOR FEE INFORMATION: Ms. Tiffany 

Poetsch, Office Manager  (602) 771-2730 or TPoetsch@AZPharmacy.Gov 

Durable Medical Goods & Equipment & Legend Devices:  

If you item(s) meet one or more of the following, you will need a full service wholesale 
permit to sell in the state. You will be required to complete the same application process 
as a wholesaler: 

1. If your items states on the packaging/container/box ‘For Rx’ or ‘For 
Prescription Use Only’. 

2. Is only available by prescription (cannot purchased over-the-counter). 
3. Contains prescription drugs within the device. 

Full Service Wholesaler / Non-Prescription Wholesaler – Non-Resident 

1. The wholesaler shall list the drugs to be wholesaled. 
2. Supply Board with a copy of their state license/permit. 
3. Full Service Drug Wholesaler permits allow the permittee to stock prescription 

only and non-prescription (OTC) medications. 
4. Non-Prescription Drug Wholesaler permits allow the permittee to stock ONLY 

non-prescription (OTC) medications. 
5. A non-prescription drug wholesaler is required to name a manager, not 

necessarily a pharmacist, who is experienced and knowledgeable in laws 
pertaining to drug distribution.  

6. A full service wholesaler shall name a designated representative with 3 years 
experience who meets the requirements of A.R.S. § 32-1982 and a resume shall 
be provided with the application.  

7. A full service wholesaler shall provide evidence, at the time of application and 
renewal, of a $100,000.00 surety bond or line of credit as required by A.R.S. § 
32-1982(D). If a full service wholesaler can provide evidence that it possesses 
the required bond in another state, the requirement for a bond in Arizona may be 
waived.  



8. No drug wholesale permittee shall manufacture package or repackage label or 
relabel or make any alterations of any drug product or container. 

9. Prescription only drug products shall be sold or distributed only to duly licensed 
pharmacies or medical practitioners. Non-prescription drug products shall be sold 
or distributed only to the above persons and to non-prescription retailers holding 
a current permit issued by the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy (if such outlet is 
located in Arizona). Sales and distribution records shall be maintained showing 
name address and permit number of all customers and shall be available to the 
Compliance Officer(s) of the Board. 

10. Applicants for a Drug Wholesale Permit shall have and be familiar with the 
Arizona Revised Statutes and Rules governing the practice of pharmacy and the 
operation of a Drug Wholesaler. 

11. Federal laws require that all personnel employed in the drug wholesale industry 
shall be qualified by education and/or experience to assume responsibility for 
compliance with state licensing requirements. 

12. Permittees are responsible for notifying the Board office of changes involving 
ownership, address, phone number, name of business, designated 
representative or manager including their phone number.  

13. DRUG WHOLESALE PERMITS ARE NON-TRANSFERRABLE. 
14. PLEASE CONTACT BOARD OFFICE FOR FEE INFORMATION: Ms. Tiffany 

Poetsch, Office Manager  (602) 771-2730 or TPoetsch@AZPharmacy.Gov 

 

Durable Medical Goods & Equipment & Legend Devices:  

If you item(s) meet one or more of the following, you will need a full service wholesale 
permit to sell in the state. You will be required to complete the same application process 
as a wholesaler: 

a. If your items states on the packaging/container/box ‘For Rx’ or ‘For 
Prescription Use Only’. 

b. Is only available by prescription (cannot purchased over-the-counter). 
c. Contains prescription drugs within the device. 


